Many Of The Men…..

BurntOutShell

Many of the men had no cloths because they had lost them in the water. I remember a clothing store in a small town. We broke into the store and helped ourselves to the new cloths. I exchanged my filthy camp issue for a new set of cloths and a hat. We must have been a sight to see.”

“Men were eating anything they could find and getting sick from the food because they hadn’t eaten in so long. I got the “shits” and a guy with a bag of sugar told me it was good for the “shits”. I ate it but it didn’t help. The next thing I remember I was in a German field hospital, which was located in a country house. I was in a room with a Belgian man. I think the staff in the hospital were just waiting for us to die. They had moved us into a storage room. I do not remember how long I was there. The Belgian could still walk and slipped out of the field hospital and told some British troops where I was. A British soldier came there and picked me up and carried me outside. He put a blanket on a garbage can and sat me there. He told me to wait for an ambulance. Two British Military doctors came in an ambulance and picked me up. I could not walk anymore. I weighed seventy-two pounds.”

To Be Continued……….

Leave a comment